The Human Torch tries to cook

I love dinnertime. I love food. I inhale food. Food is life. However, if you’ve had the opportunity to spend any time with me, you know that the cooking gene skipped me, I am impatient and I, sadly, only have the ability to burn things in the kitchen.

It is around 6:30 p.m. every evening that I sit on my couch and wonder where my next meal will come from. Will Halston pick up something on the way home? Will his mom invite us over (thanks for keeping me alive, Glenda)? Are wine, cheese and a caprese salad considered a well-balanced meal (because I’ve had that a few nights in a row now…)?

I’ve attempted to go to the Winter Garden Farmer’s Market twice now. The beautiful, vibrant colors of the produce and the mom’s who seem to know what they’re doing, walking around with their biodegradable bags always intimidate me. Do they all subscribe to food blogs? Do they pin recipes on their “Recipes To Try” Pinterest pinboard? I can only imagine that I would pass out at the Orlando Farmer’s Market or the Winter Park Farmer’s Market from being overwhelmed.

Twice I’ve been to the farmer’s market and twice I’ve left with… well… not food.

CJFac9JWEAAoqza

Screen Shot 2015-07-06 at 6.05.18 PM

And every time I’ve visited Freshfield Farms, I’ve left with bags upon bags on berries and fruits, but nothing that I can actually cook. Last month, a huge chunk of my paycheck went to Chick-Fil-A, Panera and Chipotle (I am a creature of habit).

I need help and I am reaching out to you Orlando (and world) to help me change my ways. Please domesticate me.

What are some of your favorite food blogs that I, Veronica “Burning Down The Kitchen” Figueroa can check out? What are your meal prep strategies? Will someone pick me up on the “housing in exchange for food” proposal?

I’m headed to Publix today, on an empty stomach might I add, because I read a recipe that includes Brussels sprouts and bacon… and bacon is a good thing, right?

Please pray for me and alert the Winter Garden fire station. I’m going in.

 xx

Leave a Reply

